Washington Township

Chief Alec O’Connell was sworn in as the Washington Township Fire Chief in 2014. O’Connell began his career as a part-time firefighter, advancing to full-time firefighter, Lieutenant, Captain, Battalion Chief and Assistant Chief before being promoted to the Fire Department’s top leadership position. Having served the Township for over 27 years, O’Connell has been an integral part of ensuring quality fire and EMS services through the growth of the Dublin area. When not responding to the needs of the fire department, Chief O’Connell is spending quality time with his wife and two daughters.

Founded in 1809, Washington Township contains 27.5 square miles in northwest Franklin County, southwestern Delaware County and eastern Union County. The entire City of Dublin is located within the Township. The Township is part of the greater Columbus metropolitan area.

The Department provides fire prevention, suppression, emergency medical services and fire safety/prevention education programs for the residents of Washington Township.

The Washington Township service area encompasses 27.5 square miles and includes the City of Dublin and portions of Franklin, Delaware, and Union counties.

The Washington Township Fire Department is accredited by the Commission on Fire Accreditation International, a distinction earned by meeting or exceeding performance standards in the areas of operations, training, equipment, disaster response planning, human resources, inspections, and public education.

Performance Standards

Fast Facts on Washington Township

Donate Now